Premier Cup Logo
  • Bayhill Premier Cup 2019

    Date published: 12 March 2019 by Rylurx IT

    Bayhill Premier Cup 2019

    It’s all systems go for Bayhill Premier Cup 2019 as the BPC LOC launched its 30th annual tournament set to take place at Erica Park in Belhar over the Easter weekend. 

    The tournament launch held on the 12th of March 2019 was a stellar event and one for the archives as the BPC LOC once again showcased what premium football event organisation is all about. The Mayoral Banqueting Hall housed at least 150 VIP attendees for the occasion and team captains from the participating clubs for this year’s tournament rubbed shoulders with high calibre dignitaries.

    The Honourable Mr Dan Plato - Executive Mayor of Cape Town, Counsellor - Mr Badroodien Zahid, Mr Thabo Tutu -Director Sports Promotions - Department Cultural Affairs and Sports, Mr Bennet Bailey - President - SAFA Cape Town and NEC Member as well as guest speaker Mr Hans Vonk – Head of Football & Youth – Ajax Cape Town had front row seats at this special event.

    The Bayhill Premier Cup started with humble beginnings in 1989 and has grown into South Africa and Africa’s biggest and most prestigious youth football event. The tournament boasts a legacy which spans 3 decades and has played an integral role in shaping the landscape of our country’s football fraternity.

    The most prominent name to have risen to fame directly from the Bayhill Premier Cup is that of Benedict McCarthy. After receiving the player of the tournament award in 1996 he soon signed for Ajax Amsterdam and went on to win a UEFA Champions League trophy with Porto in 2003-2004.

    Other players who have also made their mark at the Bayhill Premier Cup include; Moeneb Josephs, Thulani Serero, Ayanda Patosi, Matthew Booth, Bernard Parker, David Kannemeyer, Daylon Classen, Ashraf Hendricks and Bradley August, to mention a few.

    Of late, Mabhuti Mayambela of JL Zwane received the player of the tournament award in 2016 and went on to sign for Djurgardens IF Fotbol in Sweden directly after the event. Most recently Supersport United’s Kamelo Mahlatsi received the player of the tournament award in 2017 and plays professionally in the PSL.

    Fans, supporters and players missed out on last year’s event as the tournament was cancelled due to the drought in the Western Cape. With conditions being more favourable this year, playing surfaces are looking great in anticipation for what could possibly be the biggest and best Bayhill Premier Cup to date.

    The tournament takes place from the 17th to 22nd of April 2019 and this Easter spectacular is a calendar event for SAFA and the City of Cape Town. Thousands of spectators attend the event annually and the opening ceremony is followed by an awesome fireworks display before the evening match on Good Friday.

    The groups have been drawn as follows:

    Group A:

    Supersport United - Jacaranda Callies - Saints FC - Ulana Academy

    Group B:

    Bayhill United – D&G Orient –Everton FC – Blue Downs Spurs

    Group C:

    Mamelodi Sundowns – Ajax Cape Town -   Black Birds Academy – Silver Spurs

    Group D:

    Virginia Academy – Milano United – Belhar Spurs – Maties FC

    Group E:

    Cape Town City FC - Khanyounis Centre Club – FC Porto – Hout Bay United

    Group F:

    University of Pretoria – Grassy Park United – Greenwood Athletic – Bayview FC

    Group G:

    Highlands Park – Hellenic – Santos FC – Nova National

    Group H:

    Bloemfontein Celtic – PPG – Beacon Spurs – Rock-a-fellas