Premier Cup Logo
Image from qualification

The qualification process

The pathway to greatness starts here

Play-offs is the entry point to the Metropolitan Premier Cup.

The play-offs were initiated after the Premier Cup Committee could no longer deal with the number of requests from clubs to participate in the Metropolitan Premier Cup.

Who May Play Play-Offs

Only the two PSL teams in our region get automatic invitations to play in the Tournament proper. All other teams in the region have to qualify through the play-offs. Except for the host club Bayhill united, and teams invited outside of the region who are invited by the host to participate in the tournament.

The play-offs is open to all clubs affiliated to SAFA and participation is free. Applications must be made on a club letterhead before the closing date. The application must include contact numbers of the club as well as the LFA the club is registered with. Teams will then be entered into the play-offs. The committee will then make contact with the club to inform when they will play.

The play-offs are played in two stages:

Preliminary stage:

The Prelims are played on a home and away basis on the same day. Two teams play each other twice on the same day. The away-goal rules apply when teams end with the same results for both games. The team with most goals proceeds to the next round.

Round robin stage:

The last twenty eight (28) teams proceed to the Round robin stage. Eight groups of four teams contest in the Round robin stage. The top two teams of each group qualify for the next Metropolitan Premier Cup. The play-offs has its own set of rules and regulations.

There is no set number for the play-offs, but only fourteen (14) teams can qualify for the Metropolitan Premier Cup. The committee receives over 100 applications for the play-offs yearly. Teams from as far as Hermanus, Gordon's Bay, Stellenbosch, Paarl, Atlantis play in the play-offs.


Match Calendar

Group Stages17 - 20 April 2019
Knock-outs Stages20 & 21 April 2019
Finals22 April 2019

Where the Playoffs take place

The play-offs are take to different venues that is available in order that the Premier Cup reach as many players as possible.

Play-offs have been held at the following venues:

  • Rocklands Sports complex, Mitchell's Plain
  • Portland Sports field, Mitchell's Plain
  • Rooikrantz Sports complex, Grassy Park
  • Nyanga stadium, Nyanga
  • Wallacedene Sports field, Kraaifontein
  • Langa Sports Complex, Langa
  • Youngsfield Sports Field, Wynberg
  • Shelly Road Sports Field, Salt River
  • The Greens, Manenberg
  • William Herbert Sports Fields, Wynberg
  • Cornflower Sports Fields Bridgetown

Past Winners

2017SuperSport United
2016SuperSport United
2015Glendene United
2014Ajax Cape Town
2013Ajax Cape Town
2012Philippi United
2010Supersport United
2009Mamelodi Sundowns
2008Ajax Cape Town
2007Bright Stars
2006Harmony Academy
2005Ajax Cape Town
2004Ajax Cape Town
2003Wits University
2001Ajax Cape Town
1998Michau Warriors
1990St Johns

Where are they now?

Moeneeb JosephsMoeneeb Josephs
Matthew BoothMatthew Booth
David KannemeyerDavid Kannemeyer
Bradley AugustBradley August
Bernard ParkerBernard Parker