Premier Cup Logo

Metropolitan Premier Cup


Taking the game to a higher level

Twenty one years of continuous success and glory shone through at this year's Metropolitan Premier Cup held at Erica Park, Belhar. The stars comprised of 32 teams all ready for the showdown.

Part of the Metropolitan Premier Cup's success, is its ability to produce new talent year after year. The 2009 Metropolitan Premier Cup would prove to be no different; as a high expectation is now standard. It is no secret that some of the most influential and probably most talented players of our great nation have all run out at the magnificent event in their junior years. The likes of Benni McCarthy, Steven Pienaar, Lance Davids and many more players have all come through the Metropolitan Premier Cups doors.

The question on our minds is; who is the person that decides who becomes the next outstanding new kid on the block at the Metropolitan Premier Cup? What is the criteria etc.

Well the answer is simply; there is no one person! In fact there is a whole panel of adjudicators or assessors that tediously roam the playing fields at the Metropolitan Premier Cup, from day one, from the first kick off to the last kick, looking, searching, and scouting for talent. This panel of gentlemen is a select group from the glory of South African football, who each in their own respect has contributed to the beautiful game in some way or another.

The Metropolitan Premier Cup has called on these stalwarts' to share their experience and expertise, and be unbiased in their selection of: Team of the Tournament, Player of it he Tournament, etc.

Although the panel has changed over the years, its caliber remains consistent.

Here is the list of the panel members. To view what each had to say about the 2009 edition of the tournament simply click on their names to be taken to their comments.

Jeffrey Isaacs

Mr. Jeffrey Isaacs has been involved with soccer since the 1960s during the Group Areas Act, he played for the Lions League, 1964 and in the 80s he coached amateur teams. In 1985 coached SAFA Super League. In 1989 was the coach for Parkhurst (youth coach). In 1999 he coached KenPark. He was also coached Avendale, Chelsea who won the super league and 3rd division. In 2004 partook in the SA games and in 2005 recieved a gold medal as Head Coach. He has coached players such as Lance Davids, Nasoor Allie, Raymond Scott, Ashley Opperman, Roberto D Santos and Rudi Isaacs.

He comments that his achievements are "small but competent contributions."

Contact Information

Tournament Secretary: MG Abrahams
Cellphone: +27 83 243 7021
Fax: +27 21 633 1220

Tournament Director: Patrick J. Williams
Telephone: +27 21 787 5012 (office)
Cellphone: +27 82 335 7392
Fax: +27 86 601 7169

  • City of Cape Town
  • Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport
  • Rylurx IT
  • Laurus Sport
  • SAFA